Grace & The Art of Beer…

On the verge of yet another unwanted birthday, I find myself taking inventory of my life.  It’s not easy growing older, but practice makes perfect, right?  Walking home from my cross fit session at Invictus this morning my thoughts were of the word grace.  I have no clue as to why.  It is such a simple word on the surface but it holds so many meanings that are relative in my life now.  I looked it up when I got home and here are a few of the many definitions that struck a chord:

  • elegance or beauty of form, manner, motion, or action:  Synonyms: attractiveness, charm, gracefulness, comeliness, ease, lissomeness, fluidity.
  • a pleasing or attractive quality or endowment.
  • favor or goodwill. Synonyms: kindness, kindliness, love, benignity; condescension.
  • moral strength: the grace to perform a duty.
  • manifestation of favor, especially by a superior  Synonyms: forgiveness, charity, mercifulness.

It is really hard to maintain grace, especially given the pressure of a hectic life.  But I realize it is a very important thing for me to work on.  With every year that passes I have to try harder to maintain it under pressure and goodness knows there are times when I just flat-out fail!  I make heaps of mistakes but thankfully most around me are of the forgiving nature; another thing I need to improve about myself.  It’s tough right now and I need to find the courage and inspiration necessary to forge ahead each day while working my hardest to maintain grace.

This may sound silly to some but I find this courage and inspiration each & every time I walk in the front door of CrossFit Invictus.  I am not the fastest, the strongest or the most skilled in the workouts; but the community at Invictus makes me feel strong and determined.  Coach Nichole in particular is my inspirational rock.  I am forever in awe of this amazing young woman.  Through her coaching, I am learning to celebrate my accomplishments, regardless of how small they may be.  She reigns as the “Queen of High Fives” and praise from her is in limitless supply.  Nichole personifies the definitions of grace and she serves as a constant reminder of it’s importance in my personal journey.

I am honored to share my time with the folks that attend classes there also.  If I had a dollar for every time someone encourages me as I struggle, I would be the richest girl in the world.  There must be something in the water at Invictus because honestly every person there, staff and members included, exudes these qualities.  I derive a great sense of pride from being a part of “The Sea of Green”.  I feel so much stronger when I walk out of there.  If I had limitless funds, I would give every person I know the gift of experiencing this community.  Walking through that door for the first time in April was the best thing that has happened to me in a very long time.

I turn 52 on September 15th and I feel better than I have in a long time.   I will be spending my birthday up in Oakland with some people that are special to me and you can bet that some delicious craft beer will be shared.   I look forward to yet another year filled with good health, friends, travel and happiness.  I am thankful for all that I have and I will not dwell on what I lack.  I will try harder to forgive, even when I hurt the most.  And oh yes…I will try my hardest to maintain grace.

xoxo
TheArtofBeer

Leave a Reply

