Gastronomy: the art or science of good eating…

gastro mk – maison mk – marrakech – morocco

Few words are needed to describe the 5 course tasting menu I experienced dining at gastro mk on December 27th, 2011.  This was my last night in the vibrant city of Marrakech and it was my plan to end with the best.  Prior to my trip to Morocco, I found maison mk listed as one of, if not the best Riad in Marrakech.

http://www.maisonmk.com/

The restaurant, gastro mk, offers a 5 course tasting menu nightly (closed Wednesday) and opens its doors to only 10 lucky people from outside the guests of the Riad.  I was fortunate to receive a booking and gastro mk certainly lived up to my expectations.

Head chef, Omar El Ouahssoussi combines the traditional, yet exotic Moroccan style of cooking with the brilliance of modern french cuisine.  The result is brilliant and gastro mk wins TheArtofBeer 2011 Culinary Excellence Award!

canapés on the terrace

carrot and leek velouté with honey

pumpkin and parmesan raviloi, with pastilla, sauteed vegetables and artichoke puré

leg of lamb confit, carrot and potato purée couscous with crunchy vegetables , moroccan t’faya and red wine jus


other selections offered:

**Or Grilled filet of john dory with Moroccan spiced lentils, beetroot purée, lychee and caramelised mango spaghetti
**Or mushroom tart with tomato concassé, broadbead purée, green asparagus and sautéed broccoli

marcascapone cream with dates, chocolate and banana cigars and mint tea jelly

**Have you ever scoffed down your photo subject before you took the photo? – Well that’s what I did here!!! For those that know me, the shadow of my hand taking the picture post 3 bites of goodness, has an eery resemblance to a “Wide-Billed Duck” shadow puppet — coincidence? I think not :)**

chocolate and caramel fondant, vanilla ice cream, ginger tuile

I rarely eat dessert but this was so enticing I could not stop myself!

The last piece of perfection I need to touch on at bistro mk is the service.  From the moment I walked in the door I felt welcome and comfortable.  The dinner, from start to finish, was nothing short of extraordinaire.  From my experience, this does not happen without a culture that teaches the importance of true service and hospitality.  Cheers to owners Paul & Aoibheann Hopkins along with outstanding manager Mary Teare!  I sincerely hope I will return soon and I will plan to stay at maison mk!

Best Wishes for a peaceful and prosperous 2012

xoxo TheArtofBeer

handcrafted metal lanterns cast gorgeous shadows on the walls & ceiling in the center patio and chill space of the decadent maison mk

maison mk plunge pool in the center patio this decadent space is sheltered in winter and offers fabulous little areas in which to chill

Leave a Reply

