Aside

Riad Laaroussa – Fez (Fes), Morocco

A Riad is a traditional Moroccan house with a closed garden in the interior.  From the streets of the Medina walking to (left) and looking at (below) the door, you could never imagine  what awaits on the other side!

Once inside the street door you find a hallway leading to the locked front door.

I would be fibbing if I said I did not have some trepidation on the rainy walk with the porter from where the taxi dropped me off at one of the entrances to the Medina.  When the door opened and my eyes focused on the amazing courtyard, I exhaled.

View of the courtyard from my room

Entry to the Bathroom

Love the bathtub!

The porter hauled my bag up several flights of stairs to the door to the Blue Room with this very tired girl lagging behind.  When the door to the room opened,  I was actually overcome with emotion at the sight of the stunning space.  This was no ordinary room.  Instead I liken it to an exotic flat in an ancient building. Mosaic tile floors,  20′ ceilings, spacious and well-appointed; it was hard to believe that I would call this home for the next 4 nights.  The bathroom is nothing short of stunning.  There is a small seating area and a bed tucked in a little alcove that would be perfect for a family traveling with a child.  The door hides behind dark blue drapes that serve as part of the decor as well as being a practical way to block drafts.  The furniture, some of which is a pewter toned metal, adds a somewhat modern twist.  I am amazed at the number of power outlets that are accessible in the room.  Morocco has the same type of plug as found in most of Europe and most electronic devices  handle the higher voltage found in Europe.  It is easy to find a compact, affordable power converter.  The other thing that really impresses is  the abundance of light options and the convenient ways to switch them off and on.  My hotel in Casablanca was quite dark and reading before bed would definitely not have been an option for me, even if I was rested.

The “Blue” room opens into a lovely sitting area with a stellar fireplace (the fire seen below started this morning) which is shared by the Orange & Brown rooms.  There only a total of 8 room/suites in the property so the personal attention is like none I have ever experienced.  In my earlier post I mentioned the Collectivistic Culture of Morocco.  The staff at Riad Laaroussa is a testimony to the Moroccan sense of duty.  Although I am a complete stranger, I feel as if I am in the home of a dear friend that is insistent on taking care of me.  It is a very welcome feeling at this point in my life.

Babouches

I leave you tonight ( it is now 2 am and power is back on) with a few more photos, including one of the adorable babouches (slippers) found at the side of my bed.  I am not one to shop for souvenirs while traveling but I am certain to buy some to take home with me.  For some odd reason, in my delirious, sleep deprived state,  I am picturing @GreyhoundBrett wearing these.

Riad Laaroussa Guest House

http://www.riad-laaroussa.com/

Next up… a glimpse of the streets in the Fez Medina!

Until then…

تصبحوعلیخير  “Tusbihu ala khayr” (Good Night to all of you)

or better yet…

“ila l-liqaa’” اللقاء()الی  ( Until We Meet Again)

2 responses to “Riad Laaroussa – Fez (Fes), Morocco

  1. I am an architect, so I love the glimpses of the courtyard and building design. Lots of interesting things out there in the world besides #craftbeer 🙂

    • Stay tuned for pics of the structures, esp the Mosques. Fascinating city! Make travel a goal if at all possible. We live such a sheltered life in the U.S. — seeing how other culture’s live is vital for the future.
      Best…Tay

Leave a Reply

