Reducing My Impact on the Planet

You have to start somewhere and I began this journey a few years back.  I have done very well with some of the things I set out to change, but I need improvement on others.  Here you will find my list and I encourage you to start your own.  It takes a lot of drops to fill a bucket and any contribution you make will help the bigger cause.

My List…

1.    Use no plastic bags – use only canvas, reusable shopping bags

2.    Drink water from a glass or stainless steel bottle – avoid plastic water bottles at all costs

3.    Carry reusable travel cup for coffee

4.    No High Fructose Corn Syrup – No Exceptions!

5.    Use reusable containers for food storage and taking lunch to work

6.    Buy fruits and vegetables that are in season and that are grown in CA

7.    Buy ethically and humanely raised meat and eggs – must be pasture raised

8.    Shop for 50% of food at Farmer’s Market and avoid anything in a package

9.    Eliminate 25% of my “stuff”  – Donate to charity.  If it has not been used in 6 months, donate it

10. Use no Styrofoam products

11. Reduce trash by avoiding packaged products

12. Eat out less – target goal 75% of food consumed should be cooked at home when not traveling for work

13. Reduce purchases of anything new to 2 items per month – clothing, shoes, accessories

14. Return egg cartons to farmers market

15. Buy milk and crème in glass bottles that can be returned and reused

16. Purchase recycled paper products – toilet paper, tissues

17. Use cloth napkins and towels whenever possible

18. Use natural cleaning products – enzyme and citrus based

19. Do not buy foods with ingredients I cannot pronounce or identify

20. Volunteer for sustainable food charity that promotes healthy, natural food choices for children

Words of advice…Start small so you feel a sense of accomplishment early on.  The more you feel you are succeeding, the more you will want to do.  Convert a few friends.  Doing the right thing is contagious and it feels great.  Celebrate even the smallest victories.  Drink a beautiful Craft Beer in honor of your accomplishment.

http://noimpactman.typepad.com/

Life is short-make a difference!

Peace…

TheArtofBeer

2 responses to “Reducing My Impact on the Planet

  1. Hi my name is Vicki and I just started following you on Twitter found you through Girls Pint Out. We share similar passions, craft beer, being green, less is more, reduce toxic chemicals. I am a bit older 53 yes and with that we do get a little smarter. Life is very short I lost my husband at 45 so my 2 daughters and I live different than most, we live in the moment and are thankful for all things. After retiring from my art gallery/custom frame shop of 28 years I started a natural line of hair products called Hair Beer. We are organic, and also vegan. Trying to eliminate as many chemicals as possible from our daily lives. My late husbands cancer was directly related to chemicals…thus the mission. After a year of success and setbacks the girls finally approved the products…my toughest critics. So I thought maybe you would like to try a sample and possibly even blog about it. If so just email me and keep up the great work….your new follower.
    Vicki

Leave a Reply

